Faculty Senate Minutes March 7, 2008 12:00-1:30 Room 26

V. Bournazian N. Lejter* Mary Lackie	Members Present	Members Absent	Other
M. Brown A. Hajian M. Arshakyan J. Lyman R. Agajeenian Y. Amirkhanyan G. Khachatryan	T. Khorozyan M. Brown A. Hajian M. Arshakyan J. Lyman R. Agajeenian Y. Amirkhanyan	S. Knyazyan*	Mary Lackie

^{*} Indicates excused absence

AGENDA

- 1. Quorum Call
- 2. Welcome by Dr. Armenian, AUA President (contingent on his availability)
- 3. Scope of our responsibilities as FS Members (Vahan)
- 4. Election of FS Executive Committee (Vahan)
- 5. Staffing of Standing Committees (2008 FS Chair)
- 6. Scheduling of future FS meetings for the Spring Quarter (2008 FS Chair)

MINUTES

1) Ouorum Call

Quorum present

2) Welcome by Dr. Armenian, AUA President (contingent on his availability)

Dr. Armenian was unable to attend the meeting; but sent his greetings through Vahan Bournazian.

3) Scope of our responsibilities as FS Members

Vahan Bournazian welcomed the 2008 Faculty Senate and reviewed the scope of FS responsibilities as outlined in the FS bylaws.

4) Election of FS Executive Committee

2007 Chair Vahan Bournazian presided over the nomination and election of the FS Executive Committee. The 2008 EC is to be composed as follows:

Chairperson: Varduhi Petrosyan Vice Chair: Vahan Bournazian Secretary: Melissa Brown

Parliamentarian: Mher Arshakyan

5) Staffing of Standing Committees

The newly-elected chair, Varduhi Petrosyan, presided over the staffing of standing committees.

a) The Ethics and Grievance Committee is to be composed as follows:

Tereza Khorozyan, Sarkis Knyazyan, Gurgen Khachatryan, Yelena Amirkhanyan, and Armen Petrosyan.

b) **The Curriculum Committee** is of fixed composition as per its charter; the 2008 members are:

Robert Agajeenian, Lucig Danielian, Aram Hajian, Nelly Lejter, Varduhi Petrosyan, and Thomas Samuelian.

c) **The Committee on Extension Programs** is to be composed as follows: Aram Hajian, Robert Agajeenian, Jennifer Lyman, Lusine Galajyan, Nelly Lejter.

The 2007 Chair of each of these committees shall call a meeting within a week to elect a 2008 Chair.

Ad Hoc committees will be established and staffed as the need arises.

6) Scheduling of future FS meetings for the Spring Quarter

It was agreed to hold FS meetings on the first Friday of each month from 12:00 to 1:30 throughout the Spring Quarter, and revisit the matter in future Quarters as necessary.

A motion to adjourn was made by Robert Agajeenian and seconded by Vahan Bournazian. The meeting was adjourned approximately 1:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Melissa Brown.