Faculty Senate Minutes 1 – 1:45 P.M. 4 February 2011

Members Present Aram Hajian	Members Absent	Guests
Varduhi Petrosyan		
Byron Crape		
Arthur Drampian		
Catherine Buon		
Melissa Brown		
Irshat Madyarov		
Vahan Bournazian		
Marine Antonyan		
Eric Guevorkian		
Lusine Galajyan		
Gagik Gabrielyan		
Garegin Gevorgyan		
Karen Aghababyan		

* Indicates excused absence

Faculty Senate Agenda:

- Quorum Call
- Approval of Agenda
- Elections of Officers
- Staffing of Standing Committees

MINUTES

Quorum Call

Quorum present

• Approval of Agenda

Agenda was presented by Aram Hajian and adopted by consensus.

Elections

As Chair of the 2011 Faculty Senate (FS) Aram Hajian thanked the prior members of the Executive Committee and the prior members of the Standing Committees for their service to the AUA FS. New members of the FS were welcomed and introduced. The nomination and election process was presented and discussed. Nominations for all the officers were made. Nominations were as follows:

Chair	Vice Chair	Parliamentarian	Secretary
Aram	Aram	Marine	Irshat
Eric (declined)	Varduhi (declined)	Vahan	Marine
Catherine (declined)	Artur		
Melissa			

Secret ballots for the position of Chair were cast by those attending and counted by the 2010 Parliamentarian. After the results were announced, secret ballots for the remaining positions were cast by those attending and counted by the 2010 Parliamentarian. The results were:

Chair	Vice Chair	Parliamentarian	Secretary
Melissa	Aram	Marine	Irshat

The charges and work of the Standing Committees were described and discussed. The composition of the Curriculum Committee is set as the resident heads of each academic program. Members volunteered and nominated others to serve on the other two Standing Committees. The final composition of the committees was agreed by consensus to be as follows:

Ethics & Grievance Committee Cor	<u>nmittee of Extension Programs</u>
Varduhi Byr	on
Armen Petrosyan Eric	2
Catherine Irsh	at
Arthur Kar	in
Vahan Gag	gik

The Standing Committees were encouraged to meet and decide who amongst them would serve as Chair. They are to report their choice of chair to the FS Chair as soon as possible.

Vahan moved, and Aram seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned by consensus at approximately 1:45 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Vahan Bournazian.