Faculty Senate Minutes March 13, 2007 9:30-11:00 Room 26

Members Present	Members Absent	Others
V. Bournazian	T. Khorozyan ¹	M. Lackie, Registrar
S. Khachatryan	L. Galajyan ²	

- G. Mkrtchyan
- Y. Amirkhanyan
- V. Petrosyan
- R. Agajeenian
- S. Sivasubramaniam
- S. Knyazyan
- K. Hovhannisian
- A. Simonyan
- D. Georgievski
- A. Hambaryan

AGENDA

- 1. Adopt Minutes
- 2. Adopt Agenda
- 3. Election of Faculty Senate Officers
- 4. Selection of Standing Committee Members and Chairs
- 5. Selection of Future Meeting Dates and Times
- 6. Overview of Bylaws and Election Process

MINUTES

1) Adopt Minutes

Minutes had been previously adopted by email vote.

2) Adopt Agenda

Agenda adopted after brief discussion.

3) Election of Faculty Senate Officers

The vote was a closed vote counted by Mary Lackie, Registrar and neutral party.

Nominations were as follows:

Chair. V. Bournazian

Vice-President, V. Petrosyan, D. Georgievski

Parliamentarian, S. Knyazyan

Secretary, R. Agajeenian, S. Sivasubramaniam

Elected were:

Chair: V. Bournazian (11 Votes)
Vice-Chair: V. Petrosyan (7 Votes)
Parliamentarian: S. Knyazyan (10 Votes)
Secretary: R. Agajeenian (9 Votes)

These four officers automatically constitute the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

¹ Absence Excused

² Absence Excused

4) Selection of Standing Committee Members and Chairs

Curriculum Committee: The heads of the academic programs are automatically members of this committee. Therefore, the members are:

- R. Agajeenian
- A. Hamparyan
- P. Sen
- V. Petrosyan
- T. Samuelian
- L. Danielian

Since the Faculty Senate is designated by the bylaws to nominate the chair of standing committees, names were called for. A. Hamparyan was nominated and declined. P. Sen was nominated in absentia.

S. Khachatryan raised the question of whether the Chair of a standing committee had to be a member of the Faculty Senate. The Chair of the FS asked S. Knyazyan to look into the bylaws and report later to him.

Ethics and Grievances Committee: Nominations were then taken for members of the Ethics and Grivances Committee:

- D. Georgievski
- S. Subramaniam
- Y. Amirkhanyan
- A. Ordyan
- K. Hovannisyan
- L. Galajyan
- G. Mkrtchyan

Also nominated was S. Khachatryan, who declined.

In a closed vote, counted by Mary Lackie, the following were elected as members:

- S. Subramaniam (9 Votes)
- Y. Amirkanyan (9 Votes)
- A. Ordyan (9 Votes)
- G. Mkrtchyan (8 Votes)
- D. Georgievski (9 Votes)

In an open discussion, Y. Amirkhanyan was elected chair.

5) Selection of Future Meeting Dates and Times

Regular meetings times and dates were discussed, and it was decided that, because there was quite a long list of items held over from last year which would need to be settled this year, the Faculty Senate would meet twice a month from 4:30-6:00 p.m. for the Spring Quarter of 2007. The dates are:

March 30, Rm. 20

April 13, Rm. (to be announced)

April 27, Rm. 26

May 11, Rm. 26

6) Overview of Bylaws and Elections

V. Bournazian, as election manager, explained that the two at-large members of the Faculty Senate, D. Georgievski and A. Hamparyan, were selected by default. Only three

nominations were presented, one of which declined. The remaining two named above became at-large members.

Concluding his discussion, V. Bournazian mentioned the "Theme for 2007" suggested to him by Dr. Danielian was "Building the Next 15." With WASC accreditation now achieved, what can the Faculty Senate itself do to support and stimulate faculty development and research opportunities? Dr. Danielian suggests that the Faculty Senate, throughout its tenure, think of how this body can facilitate these opportunities.

Meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by Robert Agajeenian